stillshoppe.blogg.se

Selling mac powerbook g4
Selling mac powerbook g4








selling mac powerbook g4
  1. SELLING MAC POWERBOOK G4 INSTALL
  2. SELLING MAC POWERBOOK G4 FULL
  3. SELLING MAC POWERBOOK G4 SOFTWARE
  4. SELLING MAC POWERBOOK G4 PC

Then either buy a new drive and install it yourself, or take the whole thing into a mac store to get the drive replaced. If you listen closely, it might make different sounds than before during initial boot.Įasiest solution? Copy all your data to an external disk RIGHT NOW. This usually shows by having problems spinning up. Your hard drive is in the process of dying. Would a directory/hard disk corruption cause the Mac not to locate the hard disk (even if booted from OS DVD) or fail to boot? Now that it is booted (again, why it found the hard disk that time and booted is a mystery) there is no evidence of any problems other than the disk utility telling me the hard disk / directory is corrupted (and disk utility cannot fix it). I'm wondering if the problem is the hard disk, or if there is more to it? Now that it is on, it is fully functional, aside from the hard disk problems evident from the disk utility program. I just kept resetting the NVRAM & PMU and it just finally decided to find the hard disk and boot. However, I am not sure how or why my system finally did boot from the hard disk. it's not too hard to do it yourself, although the top lid has some annoying clips that are easily bent. if it reliably boots from the dvd and/or an external hard drive, and especially if the smart status shows a problem, then you will need to replace it. If it's not directory corruption, then it's probably the hard drive. alternately, you can reinstall and migrate from a backup. In the event you have directory corruption, the tool to get is disk warrior. Thanks for any help or suggestions! Obviously I do need to get to the root of the problem to get it fixed, but I would at least like to get it to boot like I did at the hotel so that I can do some further diagnostics (and use it temporarily ).

SELLING MAC POWERBOOK G4 FULL

Thankfully I do have a full backup on an external WD MyDisk.

SELLING MAC POWERBOOK G4 PC

In the meantime, looks like I'll just use PSE on the PC to re-size my photos.

SELLING MAC POWERBOOK G4 SOFTWARE

It doesn't appear to be the board or anything "serious" as everything else works fine when I do boot from the OS DVD including the USB ports, Firewire, DVI output - the PowerBook G4 just isn't finding the hard disk.Īny Mac Guru's have advice? I'm in Mac withdrawal and really need the photo editing software on there (full photoshop package, $$ software). I can boot from my OS DVD (OS X 10.5) but that doesn't find the hard disk either.

selling mac powerbook g4

I'm thinking the hard disk may have gone bad (or perhaps a connection to the hard disk ?) - for whatever reason my Mac just isn't finding the hard drive on startup. All that does is restart the machine when I try it now. I did have an issue once where the Mac couldn't find the OS, but I used the option + open apple + P & R and it worked. I don't know what it was I did at the hotel that got it started or if it was just dumb luck after two hours of frustration. However, now that I am home I can't get it going at all - have tried all the different startup key combo's. I then turned it on again, it found the hard disk/OS and started. option - open apple - P & R) I was ready to give up. The Mac would then go to a gray screen and eventually go to the "no disk" icon.Īfter two hours of using the various key combos I know of (i.e. When I tried to boot my PowerBook G4 in LIR I would get the chime, I would hear the hard drive start and then stop. My PowerBook G4 has all of my photo editing software and is the main machine I use. I took many fantastic pics using my Cannon G9 P&S thanks to the help over on the photography forum. I brought my Mac PowerBook G4 with me, but didn't use it until the last night when I ended my trip in Liberia, CR ( LIR). This may not be the best place to ask for help, but I know there is some great knowledge here.










Selling mac powerbook g4